Your browser is not supported

Your browser is too old. To use this website, please use Chrome or Firefox.

Greater Niagara Chamber of Commerce

New members appointed to the Niagara College Board of Governors

Niagara College is pleased to announce the appointment of five members to the Niagara College Board of Governors.  

Chair Del Rollo is excited to welcome new members with a broad range of experience and expertise to the board. “I look forward to the value and insight that our new governors will bring to our deliberations,” said Rollo.

Niagara College is grateful for the commitment and dedication of our volunteer Governors and is proud to welcome the following community members to the Board for a three-year term:

Janet Allan: Allan is a retired partner from KPMG LLP, having worked in KPMG’s St. Catharines office. She has more than 35 years of experience in public accounting, serving clientele including local governments, school boards, colleges and universities, not-for-profit organizations and private companies. Allan has a long history of community involvement and is also treasurer of Gillian’s Place in St. Catharines and of the Rotary Club of St. Catharines Lakeshore. 

Mishka Balsom: Balsom is the President and CEO of the Greater Niagara Chamber of Commerce (GNCC), which develops and implements initiatives designed to strengthen the local business climate and support Niagara’s economic prosperity. Under her leadership, the GNCC launched a number of new programs and collaborative partnerships throughout Niagara, Ontario and New York State. Balsom is actively involved with a number of local, provincial and international community organizations. Before joining the GNCC, she successfully held senior management positions in Canadian media and owned her own communications company. 

Michael Mann: Mann is a member of the corporate/commercial legal team at Lancaster Brooks & Welch LLP. He was admitted to the partnership at Lancaster Brooks & Welch LLP in November 2000. In 2008, Mann received the Business Link’s 40 Under Forty Business Achievement Award, which is given to future leaders under the age of 40 who consistently make their mark in business and contribute to their respective communities. Mann has a long history of community involvement and currently sits as a board member on the Niagara Community Foundation.

Carolyn Hurst will return to the board for her second three-year term. Hurst is a seasoned business executive and board member who has an outstanding record of business success. She has been the president of three companies (Why Interactive Inc, ITC Corp., and Effingham Technology Management Inc.) and has more than 20 years of experience as an executive in the global Information Technology industry with Capgemini Canada, Ernst and Young, SHL Systemhouse, MCI International and JetFform. Currently, Hurst is the co-owner and founder of Westcott Vineyards a boutique winery in Jordan, Ont. She also has significant experience in the Toronto restaurant and hospitality industries.

In addition, joining the board for a one-year term is Emily Irwin, who was elected to serve as the student representative for 2020/21. Irwin completed her second year of the Office Administration – Executive program last spring and started the Office Administration – Health Services program this fall. She has regularly volunteered at on-campus events and served at the InfoDesk. Irwin hopes to take the skills she has learned to improve the student experience, and is focused on mental health, food security, embracing and celebrating diversity on campus, and student success. 

“Niagara College is so fortunate to have a group of accomplished business and community leaders who give of their time and expertise so generously in support of our students and our college,” said Niagara College president Sean Kennedy. 

For more information regarding the Niagara College Board of Governors, visit 

Share this: