Your browser is not supported

Your browser is too old. To use this website, please use Chrome or Firefox.

Greater Niagara Chamber of Commerce

2018 Women in Business Awards Finalists

On Friday, November 16, The Women in Niagara (WIN) Council and the Greater Niagara Chamber of Commerce (GNCC) will be hosting the Women in Business Awards (WIBA) at the Marriott on the Falls with founding partners The St. Catharines Standard, The Welland Tribune, and The Niagara Falls Review. The Women in Business Awards (WIBA) is an annual event to recognize the leadership and success of women in our business community. The WIBAs aim to encourage more women to seek out and reach for leadership roles in business, non-profits, and politics.

We are pleased to recognize our finalists for the following categories:

Business Leadership Award

  • Amy Layton, Royal LePage NRC Realty
  • Sarah Wood, Niagara Parks Commission
  • Shannon Sutherland, Walker Industries

Community Spirit Award

  • Alexis Kleimann, DSBN Educational Research & Innovation Hub
  • Carey Benvenuti, Dominion Lending – Home Capital Solutions/ No One Goes Hungry Niagara
  • Maria del Carmen Suescun Pozas, Seedling for Change in Society and Environment
  • Vivienne Dineen, Moksha Yoga
  • Yvonne Nasri, CAA Niagara

Cultural Arts Award

  • Alice Burke
  • Jenny Dean, Cabar-EH Youth Theatre
  • Lisa Cosens-Brillon, Brillon Music Studio
  • Michele-Elise Burnett, Celebration of Nations
  • Susan Wilkinson, The Painted Turtle

Emerging Business Award

  • Heather Kent, Feeder Flower Farm
  • Jennifer Newman, Second Dance
  • Jessica Silvestri, Bella Buddha Beads
  • Robin Ridesic, The Exchange Brewery
  • Tara Popiluk-Kulawic, Urban Cravings

Entrepreneurship Award

  • Christine Raby, AAPEX Driving Academy
  • Emily Rozema, Mingle Hill Farms
  • Shailina Halani, Sense Of Beauty Spa
  • Teresa Schaubel, Custom Image Sales and Giftologie
  • Chris Robertson, Loud + Clear

Science & Technology Award

  • Dr. Amy Proulx, Canadian Food and Wine Institute at Niagara College
  • Sharon Reeds, Intuitive Shipping
  • Shelley Mannell, HeartSpace Physical Therapy for Children
  • Stephanie Thompson, General Motors of Canada

Social Enterprise Award

  • Debbie VanGrieken, Moyaa Shea Butter
  • Laura Ip, Underdogs Boxing Club
  • Renee Delaney, Small Scale Farms
  • Sarah Lockbaum, Niagara Mobile Foot Care Service/Niagara School of Foot Care
  • Shauna MacLeod, Willow Arts Community

Tourism Award

  • Karen Doyle, City of St. Catharines
  • Shelley Traver, Rockway Vineyards
  • Beverly Smith, Niagara’s South Coast Guest House
  • Natalie Stickles, Five by Five Design Studio

Young Professional Award

  • Allison Findlay, Flat Rock Cellars
  • Chantelle Mamone, Meridian Credit Union
  • Diana Aquino, Walker Environmental Group Incorporated
  • Julie Van Ruyven, Business Link Media Group
  • Mahnoor Sarwar, Crawford Smith & Swallow Chartered Accountants LLP
  • Michelle Biskup, Niagara River Lions

The Lifetime Achievement award will be presented to Betty Lou Souter, CEO of Community Care St. Catharines & Thorold. With more that 40 years experience in the voluntary sector, Betty-Lou Souter has earned a reputation as a committed and dedicated volunteer. Through serving on various community task forces, she has given voice to those who have not been heard and advocated for a healthy and vibrant community for everyone. Her familiarity with the social and health issues of the community coupled with extensive volunteer involvement at all levels has enabled her to develop a large network in all sectors of the community.

To register, click here. The event takes place from 11 a.m. – 2 p.m. at the Marriott on the Falls.

Share this: